IRI THESys

IRI THESys

At IRI THESys, the Integrative Research Institute on Transformations of Human-Environment Systems, scientists from humanities, social and natural sciences collaborate to solve interdisciplinary research questions related to the societal challenges of transforming human-environment systems. The institute provides a platform for cooperation between scientists from various disciplines and departments of Humboldt-Universität and regional, national and international partner institutions.

Global societies will face critical transformations to sustain in the future 9 billion people on Earth, specifically regarding infrastructure and energy systems. Continuing the unsustainable pathways taken during the 20th century is no viable option. Impacts of global climate and land use change and the dramatic loss in biodiversity will stipulate far-reaching mitigation and adaptation strategies. Designing such strategies creatively and developing novel implementation pathways is therefore of prime importance. Moreover, scientists face the challenge to embed their findings from Earth system sciences, social sciences and humanities in the global discourse on prosperity, global justice and sustainability.

At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HU), scientists from humanities, social and natural sciences collaborate in the IRI THESys to solve interdisciplinary research questions related to these societal challenges. The IRI THESys combines quantitative and qualitative, empirical and normative research to better understand complex human-environment systems and societal opportunities and limitations of sustainable futures. One major focus of the IRI THESys is on promoting young scientists. The IRI THESys is part of a global network of leading research institutions in transformation science and is HU’s contribution to the international research effort in Future Earth.

THESys‘ themes develop threefold:

  1. Respecting planetary boundaries: Transformation of societal processes
  2. Science in society: Contesting Global Change
  3. Spatial structures in the Anthropocene: Patterns of Change

Research in the IRI THESys focuses on land and resource use, urbanization in the 21st century, climate change impacts and intra-/intergenerational environmental justice.

Additional Information

Speaker

Prof. Dr. Patrick Hostert

IRI THESys

IRI THESys

Das dritte IRI widmet sich dem Forschungsfeld Transformationen von Mensch-Umwelt- System (THESys – Transformation of Human-Environment Systems). Fokus ist hierbei die interfakultäre Vernetzung in der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, Synergien durch eine starke Kooperation mit außeruniversitären Partnern im Bereich Klimaforschung sowie die Förderung des exzellenten Nachwuchses in Nachwuchsgruppen.

Eine nachhaltige Zukunft für 9 Milliarden Menschen erfordert einen weltweiten gesellschaftlichen Umbau, welcher insbesondere die Versorgungs- und Energiesysteme betreffen wird. Die nicht nachhaltigen Entwicklungspfade des 20. Jahrhunderts fortzusetzen stellt keine Alternative dar. Globaler Klima- und Landnutzungswandel und der dramatische Artenrückgang erfordern tiefgreifende Mitigations- und Adaptationsmaßnahmen, deren kreative Ausgestaltung und konkrete Umsetzung noch weitgehend unklar sind. Die Einbettung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse aus Erdsystem-, Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften in den weltweiten Diskurs um Wohlstand, globale Gerechtigkeit und Zukunftsfähigkeit ist insofern zwingend.

Das IRI THESys an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin widmet sich dieser gesellschaftlichen Jahrhundertaufgabe, indem Forscherinnen und Forscher der Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften aus den drei Standorten Campus Mitte, Nord und Adlershof der HU gemeinsam und interdisziplinär forschen. Das IRI THESys verbindet qualitative und quantitative Forschung sowie empirische und normative Ansätze für ein besseres Verständnis komplexer Mensch-Umwelt-Systeme und der gesellschaftlichen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen von Nachhaltigkeit. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei in der Entwicklung, Einbindung und Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Das IRI THESys ist Teil eines globalen Netzwerks führender Forschungsinstitutionen zu Themen der Transformationsforschung und stellt den Beitrag der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zum neuen internationalen Forschungsprogramm „Future Earth“ dar.

THESys gliedert sich inhaltlich in drei Themenbereiche:

  1. Leben innerhalb planetarer Grenzen: Transformation gesellschaftlicher Prozesse
  2. Wissenschaft in Gesellschaft: Auseinandersetzungen um Globalen Wandel
  3. Räumliche Strukturen des Anthropozän: Muster der Veränderung

Schwerpunkte der Forschung von THESys liegen vor allem auf Land- und Ressourcennutzung, Prozessen der Urbanisierung im 21. Jahrhundert, Auswirkungen des Klimawandels, sowie intra- und intergenerationeller Umweltgerechtigkeit.

Weitere Informationen

Sprecher/-in

Prof. Dr. Jörg Niewöhner